The Vocational Education & Training Council

    About VETC

    The Vocational Education & Training Council (VETC) is one of the largest vocational education, training and assessment agencies known. VETC provides valuable credentials for over 5000 students each year through a full range of pre-employment and in-service programs with internationally recognised qualifications.


    At VETC, through the breadth of the programs offered, we strive to open the door to an increasingly diverse and rich world of learning opportunities. Our practical approach offers students the chance to cultivate their passions for learning while imparting the necessary skills and know-how for them to succeed.


    VETC has designed an International Vocational Qualification (IVQ) framework that is parallel and comparable to international standards. Industry partners can continue to adapt our standards in defining skills and levels based on various occupational needs. Learners use our framework in helping them to realize their areas of skills that need improving to be competitive in the global knowledge of economy.


    VETC is officially incorporated with the State Department of the United States of America which is constituted under the law to act as an independent accrediting and assessment agency for Vocational Education & Training (VET).


    VETC holds professional membership and receive recognition from the following organizations

    1. Association for Career and Technical Education (ACTE)
    2. Quality Assurance Commission (QAC)
    3. Cambridge Academy of Management (CAOM)
    4. Cambridge Association of Managers (CAM)
    5. Oxford Association of Managers (OXIM)

    VETC grants Vocational Education Units (VEU) equivalent to Continuing Education Units (CEU) that is acceptable and transferable to university credits. A number of universities accept VEU leading to Bachelor and Master degree courses.


    To be the leading assessor of vocational education and training in the region.


    To provide a valued choice of assessment to school leavers and working adults to acquire values, knowledge and skills certifications for lifelong learning and enhanced employability.

    To provide measurable occupational standards to industries for their manpower development.

    Core Value

      • Integrity
      • Client-focused
      • Excellence
      • Entrepreneurship

      Our Functions

          1. to advise business and service industries on policy relating to technical and vocational education and training;
          2. to prepare plans for technical and vocational education and training in accordance with international policies and economic needs;
          3. to ensure that agreed plans for technical and vocational education and training are implemented among its members;
          4. to coordinate technical and vocational education and training at the tertiary level;
          5. to establish standards for technical and vocational education and training;
          6. to establish training priorities, tests, qualifications and accreditation;
          7. to determine the facilities and resources required to ensure satisfactory standards of technical and vocational education and training and the welfare of students, trainees and staff of training institutions;

          Quality Measures & Standard

              VETC supports quality standard initiated by IACET. IACET has a rich history of promoting educational quality. Created in 1968, IACET's Criteria and Guidelines for Quality Continuing Education and Training Programs are the standards by which hundreds of organizations measure their educational offerings.

              Based on the original Criteria and Guidelines, IACET's newly-approved ANSI/IACET 1-2007 Standard address processes for designing, developing, and delivering continuing education and training, not the content of individual programs, which means that our Standard applies across all disciplines. Through an emphasis on the educational processes, the Standard ensures clear program development and valuable learning outcomes.

              The ANSI/IACET 1-2007 Standard measures all aspects of an educational provider's program development. Ten nationally-recognized standard categories have been identified as follow:

              • Category 1: Continuing Education and Training Organization 
              • Category 2: Responsibility and Control 
              • Category 3: The Learning Environment and Support Systems 
              • Category 4: Learning Event Planning 
              • Category 5: Learning Outcomes 
              • Category 6: Planning and Instructional Personnel 
              • Category 7: Content and Instructional Methods 
              • Category 8: Assessment of Learning Outcomes 
              • Category 9: System for Awarding CEUs and Maintaining Learner Records
              • Category10: Program Evaluation
              All Posts